Grade A for Atom B at Oktoberfest A Level Tournament, News (Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
Grade A for Atom B at Oktoberfest A Level Tournament
Submitted By Lester B. Nessman on Sunday, October 27, 2019
On a wild and stormy weekend, the Unifor Atom B Storm stormed the Oktoberfest "A" Tournament and nearly swept their way to victory.

Friday's opening match saw the Storm taking on the Cambridge Hawks. With less than a minute to go, Storm goalie Lincoln Lamont was pulled for the extra attacker, and the Storm equalized 2-2 to end the first game with a point.

Next up, having made the long drive from Sudbury, was Copper Cliff. The Storm prevailed 4-0, and the momentum was beginning to build.

Saturday's opening tilt was against Mississauga's Lorne Park at the famous "Aud" - the Kitchener Auditorium. Flying above the Storm were banners with the names of Kitchener Rangers and NHL players such as Larry Robinson, Bill Barber, Paul Coffey and Scott Stevens. The Storm boys weathered the attack, pulling away from a close 4-3 game to end up winning 6-3. 

Saturday's 2nd match-up was against the GTHL's Hillcrest Canadiens, who were dispatched 6-0. This meant that the Storm topped their pool and would advance to the semi-finals against the Barrie Colts A team, who draw on a population 10 times that of Saugeen Shores.

Sunday's semi-final was a carbon copy of the opening Cambridge game. Down 2-1, the goalie was pulled, but despite heroic efforts and a final second shot that was stopped, the Storm could not equalize. 

Congratulations to the team and coaches for the excellent effort the Atom B Storm put in, finishing with a stellar 4-1-1 record, 2 shutouts, 19 goals for, and 7 goals against.

Tournament scorers, (in alphabetical order), were Zander Alpaugh, Johnny Ballard, Michael Bourassa, Nolan Jackson, Brendan Lamont, Owen Mercer, Sawyer Porter, Jacob Reinwald, and Hiatt Rich.

Among those picking up assists were, (in alphabetical order), Johnny Ballard, Michael Bourassa,  Brendan Lamont, Cash Masse, Owen Mercer, Sawyer Porter, Jacob Reinwald, and Hiatt Rich.
This article has been viewed 413 times.
Team Sites
Social Networking
Follow Us On
Follow Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey on Twitter
- and -
Visit Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey on Facebook
- and -
Follow Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey on Instagram
Quick Links
Manage Subscriptions
Signup to receive email or text messages for the teams you want to follow.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 02
    Hello SSMHA families, It’s that time of year!! Registration for our 2020-2021 season will open on Wednesday, June 10th at midnight. Our main priority at this time is confirm numbers for the season and plan accordingly, so we can get back on the ...
  • 26
    Greetings SSMHA Hockey Families:Wondering how you can get ahead on some of your life goals while being trapped inside during the COVID crisis? How about getting some courses to help out as a volunteer with the Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey ...
  • 11
    Here is the link to our virtual banquet video on Youtube...
  • 10
    Saugeen Shores Storm will be hosting a "virtual banquet" on Monday May 11th.We encourage all our members to dress in their Storm gear, and tag us in a photo online.We will be releasing the award recipients on Facebook @ 6pm. Arrangements will be ...
  • 25
    SSMHA Coaching applications are now being accepted for the following teams: OWHA U9 (Novice C) U11(Atom C) U13(Pee Wee C) U15 (Bantam C)   Any questions please contact Shawn Nelson [email protected]   Read more for OMHA...
  • 22
    SSMHA is seeking a new Referee Scheduler to assign, manage, and schedule referees. Please contact Mary Campbell ASAP.  [email protected]
  • 09
    And for those who were asking about the SOUTHAMPTON clock, well...
  • 08
    Parents? Time on your hands? Don't leave it until October to learn how to run the clock at The Plex. Here's a video to help show you how...
Printed from on Friday, June 5, 2020 at 7:52 AM